India Wine Awards 2022 recognises best in market

India Wine Awards 2022 recognise the best

The country’s largest and most influential wine competition, the India Wine Awards 2022, founded by Sonal Holland Wine Academy, in partnership with ProWine Mumbai, announced 224 medal winners across the Best-in-Show, Gold and Silver categories at a glittering reception held at the Jio World Convention Centre in Mumbai in October.

The fourth edition of the India Wine Awards has set a benchmark for ranking the best domestic and international wines available in India and received a record-breaking 410 wine nominations this year.

The winning wines included 30 Best-in-Show wines, a title reserved for outstanding wines that scored 95 points and above; 77 Gold winners that scored 90-94 points; and 117 Silver winners that scored between 85-89 points in the competition.

The winners were announced at the ProWine Mumbai Night which brought together over 400 members including luminaries of the wine and spirits industry, leaders of hospitality, and key exhibitors from across the world.

The India Wine Awards also announced a 5-year partnership with ProWine Mumbai, which heralds the co-creation of a variety of initiatives to forward the cause and positive culture of India’s alcobev industry.

Sonal Holland (MW), founder of India Wine Awards and Sonal Holland Wine Academy said, “The India Wine Awards has got bigger, broader and has now gone global. The future is with us, and I foresee the trajectory of growth as dizzyingly onwards and upwards.”

Women in wine

ProWine Mumbai and the Sonal Holland Wine Academy co-curated a powerful panel on the ‘Rising Role of Women in India’s AlcoBev Industry’. The thought-provoking discussion brought together five trail-blazing women to share their perspectives on women leadership transforming India’s dynamic alcobev industry.

Sharing insights and unpacking critical issues were Ipsita Das, Managing Director at Moet Hennessy India; Gauri Devidayal, Co-Founder of Food Matters Group; Kiran Patil, Co-founder & Director at Vintage Wines (Reveilo Wines); and Devika Bhagat, Co-Founder of Adventurist Spirits Distillery (Tamras Indian dry gin).

Enjoying the glittering awards ceremony and savouring an array of award-winning wines and beverages were industry stalwarts such as Ravi Vishwanathan, Chairman of Grover Vineyards; and Jackie Matai, Co-Founder of Aspri Spirits; hospitality leaders Dietmar Kielnhofer of Grand Hyatt Mumbai; and Akshay Tripathi of Indian Hotels Company.

Blind tasting

Wines entered in the India Wine Awards competition were blind-tasted and subject to a rigorous and independent judging process over two days at The Taj Mahal Palace Mumbai in September this year. The panel of judges, chaired by Sonal Holland MW, comprised 15 qualified wine professionals.

While Indian wineries are expanding their offerings, a huge influx of international wines entering India has added depth to the competition. The presence and enthusiasm of international wine labels at the competition speak of the maturing of the market and evolution of India’s wine culture.

Domestic wines shone through the competition, winning nine awards, including one from a brand-new winery, Nine Hills from Nashik. Wines from the old world, Italy and France, won six awards each; while Spain and Portugal collectively won three awards.

For the first time, there was also a winning wine from Lebanon. 

The India Wine Awards 2022 has issued award stickers for all silver, gold and best-in-show winners. The stickers act as a tangible cue of quality and trust to the customer, helping them distinguish exceptional wines from ordinary ones.

Best-in-Show (India): York Sparkling Rosé Brut; Sula Dindori Reserve Chardonnay 2022; Virgin Hills Limited Edition Chardonnay 2021; Vallonne Vineyards Chenin Blanc 2022; Grover Zampa Art Collection Chenin Blanc 2022; Sula Rasa Syrah 2021; J’Noon Red 2020; Vallonne Vineyards Vin de Passerillage 2018; and Krsma Syrah 2018.

Gold Winners (India): Chandon Brut NV; Desaal Wine Collection Chenin Blanc 2020; Fratelli Chardonnay 2021; Fratelli Master Selection White 2021; Grover Zampa Vijay Amritraj Reserve Collection White 2021; J’Noon White 2020; Krsma Cabernet Sauvignon 2016; Sula Brut Tropicale NV; Sula Sparkling Shiraz NV; The Source Grenache Rosé 2022; The Source Reserve Chenin Blanc 2022; Vallonne Anokhee Grand Reserve Syrah 2016; York Chenin Blanc 2021; Vallonne Vineyards Merlot Reserve 2018; York Sauvignon Blanc 2021; and York Sparkling Cuvée Brut NV.

For the full list of award-winners, visit