Brews & Spirits

Please Verify If You are of Legal Drinking Age in Your Region.

Glenfiddich lends colours to artist’s visual intrigue

Glenfiddich lends colours to artist’s visual intrigue The show of Vadodara-based Raju Baraiya’s (R) work is on at Art District XIII, F-213 A, Lado Sarai, Old M.B. Road, New Delhi.

Glenfiddich, the single malt Scotch whisky owned and produced by William Grant & Sons Distillers, has gained a reputation for supporting the creative arts in India with various initiatives, including the annual ‘Artists in Residence’ award and ‘World’s Most Experimental Bartender’ programmes.

The winner of the Glenfiddich ‘Emerging Artist of the Year 2019’ from India, Vadodara-based Raju Baraiya, was awarded a 3-month residency at the Glenfiddich distillery in Scotland.

Glenfiddich, in collaboration with, recently inaugurated Raju’s solo show in Delhi, ‘Social Gathering’, showcasing his art created during and after his residency.

The exhibition was attended by Sachin Mehta, India Director, William Grant and Sons; Payal Nijhawan, Head of Marketing-India, William Grant & Sons; Kapil Chopra, Chairman of the Board of EazyDinner; and Veer Munshi, a renowned artist from Kashmir, among others.

Glenfiddich’s ‘Artists in Residence’ is a path-breaking concept, inspiring emerging talent in the country to embrace the unknown, push boundaries and break new ground by enabling them to collaborate and showcase their art globally, under the mentorship of Andy Fairgrieve, the global curator of the programme.

Raju’s art springs out of the shift from a strong rural background to an urban one. The continuous push and pull between the rural and urban triggers his visual intrigue.

“Glenfiddich’s Artists in Residence opened a new realm of possibilities and broadened my artistic horizon. I am grateful to Glenfiddich for giving me this life-changing opportunity,” Raju says.

The first Indian artist to win the residency in Scotland was Juhikadevi Bhanjdeo (2012), followed by Yuvan Bothysathuvar (2013), Chetnaa Verma (2014), Krupa Makhija (2015), Subir Hati (2016), Biplab Sarkar Swain (2017) and Biplab Sarkar (2018). (